Grace Upon Grace

When I was 9 or 10, my family went on our annual vacation to visit my grandparents in Florida. Nana called me up to her sewing loft one afternoon, saying she had a surprise. When I got upstairs, she pulled out an American Girl doll – every 10-year-old girl’s DREAM gift. As my eyes grew big, she pulled out another. And then another. And then a bed. And then a dress. And then some clothes. Turns out, Nana had discovered eBay and used it to grant her “Little Lady’s” dream.

If you manage to gain access to the home video I’ve so carefully hidden from everyone (Ten was my awkward age, y’all), you’ll see me sitting on the floor of that loft, literally surrounded by heaps and heaps of dolls (5 in all!), clothes, beds, desks, and every imaginable accessory. There’s an enormous goofy grin on my face, and I’m nearly speechless as Nana continues to pull out more and more things from behind her sewing table. By the end, my only reactions were awkward giggles and shouts of, “Oh my goodness, what?” and “Are you sure? More?”

She was sure.

There was more.

Yesterday while working on a design, I did a topical search on Bible Gateway for “grace.” The number of verses that came up was astounding, but one in particular stood out to me.

John 1:16 ESV: For from His fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.

I stared in awe at my computer, and immediately started clicking through other translations. Though some say it differently, the idea is the same:
“grace for grace,” “one grace after another and spiritual blessing upon spiritual blessing and even favor upon favor and gift [heaped] upon gift,” “grace in place of grace already given.”

Like Nana Hobson piling dolls and clothes and accessories on top of 10-year-old Alyssa, God piles grace on top of us every single day.

Sometimes, it’s something we really want, maybe even something we’ve spent a lot of time begging for. Other times, we think “you know what, I have enough, I don’t need any right now.” Sometimes, we have so much we’re basking in it, and he throws more on top of the pile. Occasionally, we don’t even want it, we think we’re fine on our own… and He gives it to us anyway.

Grace upon grace.

Grace in place of grace already given.

Enough grace to roll around in.

Until all we can do is smile so big it nearly breaks our face.

Until we giggle awkwardly and say, “are You sure? More?”

He is sure.

There is always more.

One thought on “Grace Upon Grace

  1. dawn routledge says:

    this is a good one. really good.

Leave a Reply

