I Should Update

It’s been nearly two weeks since my last post; longer since my last update email. I should apologize, should make up excuses, should use flowery words to explain where I’ve been. I should talk about my progress in the language, my English classes, my host sister’s quinceñeara.

I know that I should do all of these things, but I’m not going to.

You see, today is Tuesday. Today is Tuesday, and I leave on Friday. Just in typing those words, unbidden tears sprang up behind my eyelids and my chest tightened… for about the fifth time today. Because today is Tuesday, and I leave on Friday. And Seinfeld taught me that I can’t count today and I can’t count Friday, so that means that I only have two more days.

Two more days in the beautiful city I have called home for the past five weeks. Two more days of squeezing every last drop out of every last moment. I could sit here and tell you all about my trip, but I can do that when I get home. I could sit here and upload pictures, but then what would I do during my 10 hours in the Lima airport?

No, instead, I’ll help Mama Rosy make lunch, then go visit my friend Jack, then go downtown one last time with Monica to buy a few things. I’ll have more sister talks with Pedro, invite a couple other friends over for lunch tomorrow, and do Ruth’s makeup for her again. I’ll go to one last prayer meeting at my dear CEMY church, hug my brothers and sisters in the Lord one more time. I’ll reluctantly put my things in my suitcase, begrudgingly print off my boarding pass. I’ll use my 6-year-old level Spanish to pen goodbye letters, attempting to put to paper how much these people have changed my life yet again.

I should update, but I won’t. Instead, I’m going to cram as many memories as possible into my heart, so that I can carry them home with me, so that they can carry me through “hasta el proximo vez.”

Until the next time.

Leave a Reply

