Blessed Beyond Belief: Part One

My first semester at Moody is (somehow) moving into finals week and Christmas break.  As I reflect on the shortest 5 months of my life, I am so thankful for the many blessings God has placed in my life at Moody.  Since today is the calm before the finals storm, I thought I would take a minute to share some of them.

My roommate: On March 30, 2011, I received a facebook message that read:

Hey! I saw you post that you are planning to major in TESOL… How cool!! I’m also considering it but am not completely sure yet what the Lord is leading me to do, specifically anyway. I know He wants me at Moody though so He will continue to lead me as I follow Him… :)
It’s great to “meet” you though! Thanks for creating the group. I’m excited to meet some more future Moody students! :)
-molly

Little did I know that this message would bloom into a conversation, which would result in a timid question of whether she would like to room with me, which would lead to one of the best friendships I have ever had.  Molly is possibly the most encouraging person I have ever met.  I can’t imagine college without her.  We have laughed together, cried together, had “freshmen meltdowns” on the same day, shared meals, decorated together, and somehow made it through the entire semester without so much as an argument.

My five (MAGKA?!): Through a series of mostly random events, four girls on my floor have become some of the dearest friends I have ever known.  Molly, Alyssa, Grace, Kelci, and myself gather each night for pow-wows and prayer.  What should be about a 25 minute meeting usually stretches into an hour or two as we share the best and worst parts of our day, lift each other up in prayer, and inevitably go off on approximately 18,093 rabbit trails.  It’s so reassuring to know I have a support net to fall back on, 24/7.

PCM: When I read that I had been placed at the South Asian Friendship Center for my PCM, my attitude was not one of enthusiasm.  I have never “felt drawn” to Muslim or Hindu culture, and I thought for sure that the PCM office had made a mistake.  After all, I wanted to work with Hispanic teens.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.  The group I was placed with has become a family.  I work with the sweetest children I’ve ever met, most of whom moved here from Pakistan or India within the last couple of years.  The director of the Center, who prays with us each week, is one of the wisest women I know.  I leave each week feeling both totally refreshed and as if I have made a difference in the life of those kids.

I don’t have time to share more now, and you are probably nearing the end of your attention span.  🙂
I think back to the summer I prayed Jacob’s prayer, “I’m not letting go until You bless me,” and realize that He is answering that prayer in enormous ways.  Thank You, Jesus.

One thought on “Blessed Beyond Belief: Part One

  1. Marilyn Cuthbert says:

    It was wonderful to meet your support group and be at “our” school together for a few hours! Thanks for taking time for your aunt and uncle!

Leave a Reply

