Stretch!

*Deep breath* Wow.  Since the last time I posted, I’ve spent almost a week interning at Crossroads Farm.  I am absolutely loving my job and the people I work with.  Obviously, I’ve known Dawn and Doug my whole life (Dawn is my cousin), but to get to know them on the level of sharing in ministry has been new and incredible.  Here are some “freeze frames” of a few moments in the last week that have stretched my heartstrings even further!

Being a part of my first CRF Staff Prayer Meeting, and praying Scripture over students and people on the mailing list- by name.  Having the chance to write postcards to perfect strangers, telling them we prayed for THEM that day.  Subsequently, realizing that, as a student, they had prayed for ME in that way!

Carrying laundry out to the clothesline as the sky turned orange over the cornfields.  Hearing the cow mooing at me.  Petting said cow after hanging said clothes, and realizing I could live here.

Rejoicing one day because my Nana remembered who I was and helped with dinner… then crumpling into tears on my bed the next night, after overhearing, “Now Gene, who is that girl and why is she in our house?”

Taking two freshman girls to dinner and ice cream.  Talking, laughing, swatting mosquitoes, and building relationships.

Helping run a car wash where only 3 students showed up and only 6 cars came… over a 3 hour span, but somehow making around $40 per student anyway.  Seeing the joy on the face of a 12-year-old as he realized he had singlehandedly raised all but $4 of his camp fee.

Late night Taco Bell run with my best friend.  Laughing together after a month apart.  Getting lost on back country roads.  Taking down laundry with the help of headlights.

Making my bed, making dinner, doing laundry, and feeling independent.  Having friends I can call and make spontaneous plans with.  Sitting in the Arboretum talking for hours.  Long talks with my Papa Baker, the wisest man I know.

Hearing God’s whisper as I sat on the swing, watching the lightning bugs emerge as the sun was setting.  Being gently reminded, yet again, to trust my Father with every aspect of my life.

One thought on “Stretch!

  1. Mary Hobson says:

    Alyssa, I know it is so very difficult to have a loved on go through what your Nana Baker is going through. I remember how I felt when I’d call Grandma Keys on the phone & she didn’t recognized my voice. It hurt to think that my own mother didn’t know my voice on the phone. To avoid this, I would identify who I was as soon as she answered the phone.

    I have some good news for you. I have your quilt top done. Now I am waiting for the batting to arrive & hopefully Papa will find the fabric (in my FL. stash) for the backing.

    Blessings,
    Nana

Leave a Reply

