Loving the Pucallpa Life

I’m falling into the laid-back “routine” of life in Pucallpa.  Yesterday I got up just after the others had left for school (Except Rosy, she had the day off.) and ate breakfast.  Then, Rosy and I walked the 3 or so blocks to their church, where we helped cook lunch for “los viejitos” (the elderly people of the church.)  About halfway through the cooking process, I realized I was understanding at least 95% of what was being said… and they weren’t talking to me (which they do slowly), they were talking to each other!

Rosy and I cooked lunch when we got back (read: I shredded carrots and set the table while she cooked), then we watched a Spanish soap opera together while we waited for “los chicos.”  We all ate together, then had another lazy afternoon of naps, Spanish TV, internet, and music.  Around 3:45 (just as I had decided to go to sleep), Mama Rosy knocked on my door and said “Vamos al centro” (Let’s go to the centro, the central shopping area in Pucallpa.)

We took a motocarro into Pucallpa, where we got ice cream.  We bought some things for the house in what I think was a grocery/drugstore.  All the things are on tall shelves behind counters, and to buy something, you have to ask a worker to get it down.  Que interesante!

Last night was a great time with my host siblings, all piled on one bed talking and laughing and singing.  I just love music- they know the words to almost every English song!

This morning I was able to sleep in for a while, then Skype with a friend for about an hour, which was a wonderful English break!  We cleaned at the church, and then ate there with some other families.  (Including Aurora, my new favorite person in Peru.  She lives in the Wycliffe compound across the street, and knows how to cook all kinds of American food.  Last night she made me the best chocolate cake I’ve ever eaten and is apparently bringing American bread tonight!)

We were enjoying another lazy afternoon at home when it started to rain- and I do mean RAIN.  My words can’t begin to describe the sound of the tropical deluge on the metal roof of the house, the feeling of tiny drops of icy water coming in through the window and soaking my arms, or the smell of the air as the rain mixes with the smoke.  The lights have flickered a few times.  I’m telling you, I have NEVER, EVER seen it rain this hard anywhere other than Peru.  Pedro said it had been two or three weeks since they last had rain.

Leave a Reply

