First Days in Pucallpa

When I got to Pucallpa yesterday, I had a greeting party in the airport.  Mama Rosy, Pastor Daniel, Zaida, Victor, and Job were all waiting for me.  I was greeted with big hugs and kisses on the cheek, then we went to the house.  It was probably hot, but I didn’t really notice at all.

Job came to the house and I talked with him for a couple hours, mostly in Spanish.  He helped me with my Spanish and I helped him with some English.  Pati was here too, with her baby Fabiano, so I talked with her some and held him too.  I slept for about an hour after Job left.  When I woke up, Karen was here, and Pedro and Ruth came soon.  I ate my first meal in Peru and was content.

Last night I unpacked my stuff, talked to Karen and Pati, and Skyped my parents.  Mama Rosy was making dinner when the power went out.  We found candles and sat down to eat.  It came back on for a few minutes, then went out again.  By this time it was almost 8:30, so we went to bed!  I slept without moving until 6:45 this morning.  I woke up cold this morning! What a strange feeling to have in Pucallpa.  The weather has been very mild so far.

I had the house to myself for about an hour this morning.  I showered and got ready for the day, then Monica and Zaida came to pick me up.  I was supposed to have a meeting at the orphanage, but the director was gone somewhere.  However, I did get to see Patricia, the girl my mom and I have talked to every year we’ve gone to the orphanage.  She turns 18 the day before our team is going to visit the orphanage this year, and won’t get to see us (the orphanage is only for kids up to age 18, after that, they’re required to leave.)

Zaida and I went to the school for a little bit, then to the central market in Pucallpa, then to the office where she works.  I got to talk to my friend Carlos from CEMY for a while, I helped him with his English homework and he helped me pronounce my Spanish “r.” 🙂

This afternoon I helped Rosy make lunch, then when everyone got home from school we all ate, then we just hung out all afternoon, talking, writing, doing homework, etc.  Tonight we went into Pucallpa, to the Municipal Library, for their “Jueves en Cine” (Cinema Thursday).  They showed a documentary about oil and the jungles.  It was all in Spanish, of course, so I understood MAYBE 1/4 of it.  BUT, the library had air conditioning, which is nearly unheard of in Pucallpa!

After the movie we walked around the square and Papa Jacinto showed me the statues and described the history of Pucallpa to me.  I had lots of fun just messing around with my host brother and sisters, taking crazy pictures and joking with them.  We had supper at a polleria then brought motocarros home.  Now I’m going to go to bed-we’re trying the orphanage visit again in the morning.

Buenos noches!

One thought on “First Days in Pucallpa

  1. Mary Hobson says:

    Alyssa, we are so glad that you are enjoying your time there and can be a blessing to those you come in contact with. It sounds as if you are adjusting to the climate nicely and have chosen the time of year when the weather is milder.
    Papa & I are getting ready for our northern trip to MI. We plan to leave this Fri., spend the night with Savita, and then arrive at Gun Lake Sat. evening. I am not looking forward to packing the car nor the long drive, however, I am looking forward to seeing Savita & arriving at Gun Lake.

    Papa sold the Lincoln MKX and bought a new Flex at the auction here in Tampa. It is black, roomy, & has a GPS that we don’t know how to work. Jack & Linda have on in their edge & played with it for over 1/2 hr. but say that it is more complicated & different form theirs. I guess we will have to study the manual book closely. I’m glad that it is in English. ! 🙂

    Love you,
    Nana & Papa

Leave a Reply

