Be Calm.

Amongst those who know me well, the fact that I’m a more than a little afraid to spend a night in Lima alone is no secret.  Though I’m confident in Spanish, I’m far from fluent.  The “what-if’s” flood my mind. What if Rosa isn’t there to pick me up at the airport? What if my flight is delayed? What if the people I’m staying with don’t speak a word of English? What if I want my mommy?  As I pack and prepare, these words from the song “Be Calm” by fun. have been stuck in my head:

All the tree tops turning red
The beggars near bodegas grin at me
I think they want something
I close my eyes, I tell myself to breathe
and be calm.
Be calm.
I know you feel like you are breaking down.
Oh I know that it gets so hard sometimes.
Be calm.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Be Calm.

  1. Hannah Lyons says:

    Hey Alyssa!! I noticed that you wrote something about leaving for Peru on the MBI Freshman 2011 page 🙂 I’ll be a freshman there this coming fall. I’m actually leaving for Peru this Tuesday too! I’ll be flying into the Lima airport and staying in the city overnight then going 8hrs north to Trujillo for a 2month internship. I just wanted to hopefully encourage you by letting you know I’ll be doing something similar to you in going outside of my comfort zone. I’ll be praying that everything will go smoothly as you fly out on Tuesday. Thanks for sharing your heart and thoughts.

  2. Alyssa says:

    Hannah! It’s such a small, small world. Where are you flying to Lima from? Can’t wait to share Peru stories at Moody this fall!

  3. Hannah Lyons says:

    I’ll be flying to Lima from Ohio at the Akron-Canton airport. I fly out around 1:20. Where are you flying out from and how can I be praying for you? It’ll be awesome to share stories in the fall!

Leave a Reply

